318ti.org forum

Go Back   318ti.org forum > Technical, Maintenance and Modifications > Engine

Notices

Engine Tuneups, chips, wires, spark plugs.

» Recent Threads
The 318ti OBD-II engine...
10-19-2006 06:48 PM
Last post by Filiski120
04-24-2024 06:40 PM
210 Replies, 996,081 Views
Reply Share/Bookmark

Old 10-30-2010, 06:32 AM   #1
bmw_pwr

Default idle is around 1500, anyone else?

hello guys, i just bought 318ti today, first bimmer, was verry happy, but cus im a student, i dont have too much money, so i bought a as is so i can fix myself, so here it goes, i start the car, the idling is fine, 800.. and when the car gets hot, it goes to 1500, and drops to 1200, goes to 1500 and drops to 1200.. and it gets anoying as im in the lights, and the car is idling already high, and it dropps, revs and it drops, any ideas what that can be???
bmw_pwr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2010, 10:34 AM   #2
xxxJohnBoyxxx

Quote:
Originally Posted by bmw_pwr View Post
hello guys, i just bought 318ti today, first bimmer, was verry happy, but cus im a student, i dont have too much money, so i bought a as is so i can fix myself, so here it goes, i start the car, the idling is fine, 800.. and when the car gets hot, it goes to 1500, and drops to 1200, goes to 1500 and drops to 1200.. and it gets anoying as im in the lights, and the car is idling already high, and it dropps, revs and it drops, any ideas what that can be???
That is called a hunting idle. The first thing is check for vacuum leaks or a cracked intake boot from your MAF (Mass Air Flow) Sensor to the throttle body. You will most likely find a leak that needs to be fixed. If there are no leaks then next I would clean your ICV (Idle Control Valve) which might be causing your car to hunt for the correct idle. It needs to be removed and cleaned with throttle body cleaner and a Q-tip. Once that is cleaned well re-install it and you should be good.