318ti.org forum

Go Back   318ti.org forum > Technical, Maintenance and Modifications > Electrical

Notices

Electrical All wiring questions.

.
» Recent Threads
checking for cracks in...
08-03-2022 06:15 PM
Last post by far6car
08-03-2022 06:15 PM
0 Replies, 657 Views
Rear fog light question
01-23-2011 09:59 PM
Last post by ja_sam_vegan
07-30-2022 10:53 PM
7 Replies, 1,834 Views
318ti LSD or E30 LSD
04-23-2005 11:44 PM
Last post by iski123
07-29-2022 06:29 PM
29 Replies, 8,114 Views
Instrument cluster...
11-01-2020 03:07 PM
Last post by J!m
07-29-2022 11:29 AM
5 Replies, 3,264 Views
Reply Share/Bookmark
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-24-2007, 10:23 PM   #1
watdawg
Member
 
watdawg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Daphne, AL
Posts: 72
iTrader: (0)
Question Can anyone tell me what this part is?

This is on the passenger side. I can not see where this part goes any help would be awesome.
watdawg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2007, 10:35 PM   #2
jkilla71
Senior Member
 
jkilla71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Ft Lauderdale, Fl moving to Eastern PA in May of 2007
Posts: 326
iTrader: (0)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by watdawg View Post
This is on the passenger side. I can not see where this part goes any help would be awesome.
I don't know what kind of sensor it is but it fits into the the right brake duct.
__________________
318ti, sport, hellrot, 05/95 Munich, Germany
jkilla71 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2007, 10:35 PM   #3
watdawg
Member
 
watdawg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Daphne, AL
Posts: 72
iTrader: (0)
Default

Never mind found it on another forum but will post for others that might have same problem http://forums.bimmerforums.com/forum...d.php?t=540664
watdawg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2007, 10:37 PM   #4
watdawg
Member
 
watdawg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Daphne, AL
Posts: 72
iTrader: (0)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jkilla71 View Post
I don't know what kind of sensor it is but it fits into the the right brake duct.
Thanks, the reason mine is hanging loose is the right side brake duct is missing from running over a dog a few years back...
watdawg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2007, 10:47 PM   #5
DeadpaN
Senior Member
 
DeadpaN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 308
iTrader: (0)
Default

That's where you can plug in the ambient ext. temp. sensor. You need to have the obc (upgrade I think) for the display. Search posts....I've read about someone around here doing it.
__________________
'99 ti /Mtechnic, Schwartz II, Meyle Control Arms w/Full Metal Ball Joints, PowerFlex poly LCAB's, Pirelli P Zero/Nero 225/50/16, "the d-baffle"......
DeadpaN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2007, 11:53 PM   #6
aceyx
Senior Member
 
aceyx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: state college, pa
Posts: 3,431
iTrader: (0)
Default

It's a temp sensor that goes in the passenger brake duct. Why do all those idiots on bf.c make random guesses? Zip-tie to anything in that area if your duct is gone (but replace the duct at some point. they're important to keeping your brakes in good shape).

If you have the OBC, there is another temp sensor in the driver's duct. Why there are two, I'm not entirely sure.
__________________
I scream, you scream, we all scream for ZOMBIES.
aceyx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2007, 12:34 AM   #7
pdxmotorhead
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Portland Or
Posts: 2,666
iTrader: (1)
Default

One for OBC one for the ECU to read outside air temps to keep the motor in tune....

Dave
__________________
Dave - PDX
1995 318ti - Active Black and Tan.
2005 330xi - Mtech 1 - 6spd - Orient Blue/Black
pdxmotorhead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2007, 12:50 AM   #8
watdawg
Member
 
watdawg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Daphne, AL
Posts: 72
iTrader: (0)
Default

whats the part number for the passenger side brake duct and the protection underneath it that locks it all in place?
watdawg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2007, 12:58 AM   #9
aceyx
Senior Member
 
aceyx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: state college, pa
Posts: 3,431
iTrader: (0)
Default

www.realoem.com

Dave; why can't the same sensor provide both data?
__________________
I scream, you scream, we all scream for ZOMBIES.
aceyx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2007, 03:25 AM   #10
watdawg
Member
 
watdawg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Daphne, AL
Posts: 72
iTrader: (0)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by aceyx View Post
www.realoem.com

Dave; why can't the same sensor provide both data?
I have looked but can not find the part in the list anywhere. What would it be under?
watdawg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2007, 03:30 AM   #11
aceyx
Senior Member
 
aceyx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: state college, pa
Posts: 3,431
iTrader: (0)
Default

link
__________________
I scream, you scream, we all scream for ZOMBIES.
aceyx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2007, 03:38 AM   #12
watdawg
Member
 
watdawg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Daphne, AL
Posts: 72
iTrader: (0)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by aceyx View Post
Thanks aceyx I was going through there one by one and that was the next subsection.
watdawg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2007, 07:28 AM   #13
pdxmotorhead
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Portland Or
Posts: 2,666
iTrader: (1)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by aceyx View Post
www.realoem.com

Dave; why can't the same sensor provide both data?
Probably because temperature sensors are notoriously finicky, and converting the analog signal so there is no crosstalk between the OBC
and the ECU. Its basically just easier not to share temp sensors.
Of course the newer can-bus and other type systems do this just fine...
Of course my 95 TI is now 12 years old.... So the tech back then wasn't as good.

Same applies to O2 sensors, never piggyback a on board display unit with your engine O2, just add a second O2. For no apparent reason last fall I fixed 3 different cars in 2 weeks that were having engine issues by removing the AFR meter from the factory O2 circuit.
It was somehow loading the circuit and the O2 would read too low.

Its weird that stuff comes in waves, 1 week everybody has carb problems, next week they all dump fire-bottles by accident. (Not kidding!) Darn good thing we had just bought a bunch of recharge kits....

Dave
__________________
Dave - PDX
1995 318ti - Active Black and Tan.
2005 330xi - Mtech 1 - 6spd - Orient Blue/Black
pdxmotorhead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2007, 07:47 PM   #14
bullmand
Senior Member
 
bullmand's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Catonsville, MD
Posts: 1,028
iTrader: (0)
Default

To me that looks like part #24 in this diagram.
The OBC temperature probe is in the driver's side duct and the the one for the engine is in the top of the airbox on mine ('98). They don't look anything like that at all. Look at part #@ here. It's small and pointy.
__________________
'98 Alaska Blue Sport
'99 Titan Silber 332ti
www.armyfieldband.com
www.baltimorecitypipeband.com
bullmand is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2007, 07:58 PM   #15
aceyx
Senior Member
 
aceyx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: state college, pa
Posts: 3,431
iTrader: (0)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pdxmotorhead View Post
Probably because temperature sensors are notoriously finicky, and converting the analog signal so there is no crosstalk between the OBC
and the ECU. Its basically just easier not to share temp sensors.
Of course the newer can-bus and other type systems do this just fine...
Of course my 95 TI is now 12 years old.... So the tech back then wasn't as good.
Good call; I was thinking that it's so simple but thinking about what kind of computer I had back then (hint: about the release of the first Pentium processor) I can see why it's easier to engineer it that way.
__________________
I scream, you scream, we all scream for ZOMBIES.
aceyx is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Comprehensive Brake Info Thread RidingSimple Brakes 107 12-01-2021 07:14 PM
WTB: Thule rack or fit kit 225 Mauriceman US and North America 18 02-23-2009 06:51 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 08:59 AM.


.
Powered by site supporters
vBulletin Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1999 - 2022, 318ti.org
© vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2
[page compression: 113.82 k/136.85 k (16.83%)]

318ti.org does not warrant or assume any legal liability or responsibility for the accuracy, completeness, or usefulness of any information or products discussed.